## Section 1.—The Government of Canada's Arctic Territory.\*

The Arctic islands, which constitute part of Canadian territory, are situated to the north of her mainland. They comprise an area in excess of 500,000 square miles. They are a vast number of islands, the principal ones being Baffin, Victoria, Ellesmere, Banks, Devon, Southampton, Somerset, Prince of Wales, Melville, and Axel Heiberg.

These Arctic islands, known as the "Canadian Archipelago", were held previous to 1880 by Great Britain through right of discovery. In 1880 were transferred to Canada. From this date they have been part of Canadian territory. The Dominion first legislated with regard to them in October, 1895. This legislation divided what was then known as the Northwest Territories into four established districts. The District of Franklin included all the then known islands lying to the north of Canada. (Canadian Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.)

In 1904 a map was published by the Department of Interior, Canada, setting out practically all the activities of the early explorers and showing the boundary of Canada on the west as the 141st meridian of west longitude extending northerly to the Pole and the boundary on the east as the 60th meridian of west longitude, extending from just east of Ellesmere island northerly to the Pole. This was the first map that clearly indicated the extent of Canadian jurisdiction. Subsequent maps issued by the Dominion Government likewise show these regions as being part of Canada.

Subsequent to the transfer of the northern islands to Canada by the United Kingdom, the Canadian Government manifested its interest by sponsoring and sending into this northern section a number of expeditions for the purpose of further exploration and scientific investigation—1884, S.S. Neptune; 1885 and 1886, S.S. Alert; 1897, S.S. Diana; 1903-05, S.S. Neptune; 1906-07, C.G.S. Arctic; 1908-09, C.G.S. Arctic; 1910, C.G.S. Arctic. (See the official publications, Southern Baffin Island, 1930, and Canada's Eastern Arctic, 1934.)

The above expeditions entered the northern archipelago from the east and carried on scientific investigations and exploration on practically all of the known islands. From 1913 to 1918, extensive studies were made in the Western Arctic. (Report of the Canadian Arctic Expedition, 1913-18.)

The information obtained by these expeditions clearly indicated to the Canadian Government that it was necessary for Canada to establish police supervision and postal conveniences. As a result of this decision police posts, customs offices and postal stations were established at Pond Inlet, Baffin island; Craig Harbour, Ellesmere island; Pangnirtung, Baffin island; Dundas Harbour, Devon island; Bache Peninsula, Ellesmere island; Lake Harbour, Baffin island; Cambridge Bay, Victoria island, and a radio direction station on Resolution island. (Canada's Eastern Arctic, 1934.)

In 1922 the Canadian Government inaugurated a yearly patrol to Canada's northern islands. Each year this patrol has carried Government officials including administrative officers, doctors, scientists, and officers and constables of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to maintain Canadian authority in these regions. Cana-

<sup>\*</sup> Prepared under the direction of R. A. Gibson, Esq., Deputy Commissioner, Northwest Territories, Ottawa.